30.4 C
New York
Thursday, May 26, 2022
Home Crime Police Hewitt gives Australia Davis Cup win

Hewitt gives Australia Davis Cup win


Online CE and Pre-license Courses - Continuing Education - USA

19 July 2015 Last updated at 09:54

Former Wimbledon champion Lleyton Hewitt guided Australia into the Davis Cup semi-finals as the hosts came from 2-0 down to beat Kazakhstan 3-2.

The 34-year-old dominated opponent Aleksandr Nedovyesov for a 7-6 (7/2) 6-2 6-3 victory in the decisive singles rubber in Darwin after Sam Groth levelled the tie against Mikhail Kukushkin.

Australia will play the winners of the quarter-final between
Great Britain and France.

Neither Hewitt nor Groth had initially been slated to play singles but captain Wally Masur dropped youngsters Thanasi Kokkinakis and Nick Kyrgios after Kazakhstan had opened up a 2-0 lead.

They teamed up to reduce the deficit in the doubles before victories in their respective singles matches saw them come back to win from 2-0 down for the first time since 1939.

Hewitt, Wimbledon winner in 2002, embraced his team-mates after the come from behind victory, saying: “This is up there. I love the back-against-the-wall situation. That’s what we had after day one.

“We had to rally together and find a way to get the win. I’ve always said some of my greatest wins are in Davis Cup and some of my toughest losses are in Davis Cup so I’m going to enjoy this one. This is what dreams are made of.”

In the other quarter-finals, Great Britain lead France 2-1 while Argentina and Belgium hold unassailable 3-0 leads over Serbia and Canada respectively.

Davis Cup schedule

Semi-finals, 18-20 September: Australia v GB or France; Argentina v Belgium. Final, 27 to 29 November